The Recreation Commission works together with Recreation, Leisure & Culture Department staff in the areas of programming, budget, facilities, planning and public relations. The Commission has the responsibility of meeting community recreational objectives, and reflecting community needs to the Recreation, Leisure & Culture Department. Commissioners serve without compensation.


Justin Lanagan, Recreation Superintendent
Phone: 734-324-7294
Fax: 734-556-3228


The Yack Arena, 3131 Third Street, Wyandotte, Michigan 48192

2022 Meeting Schedule

2nd Wednesday 5:30 pm

January 12, 2022
February 9, 2022
March 9, 2022
April 13, 2022
May 11, 2022
June 8, 2022
*July 20, 2022
August 10, 2022 

2nd Tuesday 7:30 pm

September 13, 2022
October 11, 2022
November 8, 2022

2nd Wednesday 5:30 pm 

December 14, 2022

*Meeting Date Changed

(Above schedule is subject to change & notices will be posted)


The Yack Arena, 3131 Third Street, Wyandotte, Michigan 48192

Term Limits

The Recreation Commission has a term limit of 5 years, with terms beginning in April.

Current Commissioners

President Wallace Merritt
Vice-President Tom DeSana
Secretary Ron Adams
Commission Jacqueline Jagiello
Commissioner Elissa Cumiskey 

Meeting minutes for the Recreation Commission are available upon request by contacting the commission chair.